Сюникская область — Армянский музей Москвы и культуры наций
 

Syunik Region

Kapan is the administrative center of Syunik Region. In the eastern part of Syunik, the town of Goris is located, surrounded by a large number of mountain chains in the form of pillars, steles, pyramids, columns, because of what they are called Stone Forest.

It is known that the settlements on the territory of Goris existed at the beginning of our era, although the first signs of urban life can be seen in the second half of the XIX century. In ancient times, people who lived in caves settled so high in the rocks that it was almost impossible to get to them. During the excavations, pottery from copper and bronze ages, as well as tools, household items and weapons were found here.

Unique cave dwellings are found in the village of Khndzoresk (literally – «Apple village»), not far from Goris. The village, which is more than 1000 years old, is in a hard-to-reach place. Once its several hundred caves served for people not only as a home, but also as a shelter. Historical chronicles, left by the historian Abraham Kretatsi, indicate that the caves were located one above another at an altitude of 20-30 meters. From aside these dwellings resembled a multi-storey house, people got into them with the help of ropes, tied to the threshold. The caves made the village a kind of architectural reserve, becoming its main attraction.

The Shikahogh Reserve, founded in 1958, is located on the northern slopes of the Meghri Chain and covers an area of bout 10 000 hectares. This is one of the few places in Armenia where broad-leaved forests are preserved. There are more than 1000 plant species here, among which rare species of ferns and endangered species, such as - Transcaucasian snowdrop, Zangezur pear and others exist. In the reserve dense oak and hornbeam forests, ferns, yew and beech groves, pomegranate, walnut, maple, endless meadows with tulips, bells and orchids grow.

The fauna here is also diverse: brown bears (listed in the Red Book), wild boars, wolves, foxes, roe deer and badgers. The Shikahogh Reserve is the main habitat of the Asia Anterior (Persian) leopard in Armenia. Тhere are also rare birds in the reserve.

One of the most beautiful corners of Armenia, untouched by the civilization, is in the gorge of the Tsav River - an area of bout 60 hectares, stretched in a unique grove where the eastern plane tree or «chinara» grows. It was planted in pagan times, when people considered the plane a sacred tree.

In one of the quiet and secluded corners of Syunik, in the small town of Sisian, the 18-meter Shaqi waterfall is located. The legend says the waterfall was named so in honor of the same name beauty who one conqueror fell in love with. The maid was ordered to come to him, but she refused to obey his will and rushed from the cliff. During the fall, her long white dress opened in the wind and turned into a waterfall.

Another attraction of Sisian is the ancient megalithic complex Karahunj, or, as it is also known as Zorats Karer. This is a unique structure. On the territory of about 7 hectares around the circle there are 223 huge two-meter stones, weighing up to 8-9 tons, at the top of each - a hole. Up to our days it is not known exactly what purpose the complex was built for. Scientists believe that it is an ancient observatory, because the stones are arranged in a circle and resemble a map of the sky with the Sun, the Moon and planets. This version was confirmed after the 1994 expedition. In addition, the petroglyphs found near the complex also testify to the fact that the ancient man was well versed in astronomy. Around the world, there are two similar structures: in the UK - Stonehenge, in France - Karnak.

Near the city of Goris - in the heart of Syunik Region and in its fabulous corner there is an unusual monument of Armenian medieval architecture – Tatev monastery, located. Its history begins in the IX century. Tatev monastery stands on the edge of a huge cliff. There is a feeling that its walls are a continuation of the rock or the rocks rise, turning into a monastery. Without any exaggeration, it can be called one of the most unique sights of Armenia, the surroundings of which are among the most beautiful places on earth.

It is not easy to get to the monastery: one has to either walk along a difficult but fascinating route, or take the Tatev cable car, which, by the way, is considered the longest in the world. This location is strategically designed because once the monastery was not only a religious but also a political center of the of Syunik ministers, as well as the residence of the Syunik Metropolitan.

The name of the monastery is associated with many different legends. According to one of them, «Tatev» is translated from Armenian as «May he give wings». It is said that after completing the work, the builder stood on the edge of the gorge, crossed himself and said: «Lights, Saint, may he gives wings» («May the Holy Spirit send me wings!») - and rushed to the abyss. Wings grew on the master’s back and he flew away, and the monastery he built was named Tatev. The location of Tatev is really amazing. It is erected in such a way, as if hovering over a huge gorge.

Outwardly, the monastery looks very monumental. The walls inside were painted with frescoes, many of which have already been lost. The main building of the monastery - the church of St. Poghos and Petros - was built around the X century. It impresses with its greatness: a huge cupola, a tall round drum, bas-reliefs decorating windows, in some places frescoes have been preserved. On the south side, the St. Grigor Church adjoins it. Historical chronicles indicate that it was erected in the XIII century on the site of the lost building. There is also the gate church of St. Astvatsatsin dating back to the XI century. Around temples there is the residence of the abbot, refectory with kitchen and pantry, office and living quarters.

The Tatev Monastery is also famous for its amazing pillar, created in the X century. The octagonal stone pillar of «Gavazan» (wand) is more than eight meters high, built of small stones, decorated with a khachkar on top. The column has a hinged base, so it is swaying all the time, but never falling. Surprisingly, after a strong earthquake in 1931, which seriously destroyed the monastery, the column was not destroyed at all. It is believed that this truly engineering miracle was created to warn of a beginning earthquake or the approach of enemies.  

During the greatest rise of the monastery in the XIII-XIV centuries, Tatev University, the largest educational center in medieval Armenia, functioned here, where music, painting, humanities and exact sciences were taught.